Ascot Karrakatta Plate Review

Ascot Karrakatta Plate Review

December 1, 2015 Off By Dan James Pantone

Karrakatta Plate at Ascot Racecourse

The Karrakatta Plate is a Group 2, 1,200 metre horse race held at the Ascot Racecourse in Perth, Western Australia. The race was awarded its Group 2 status in 1979, becoming a Group 1 event a few years later in 1985. It then reverted back to being a Group 2 race in 1999. The first Karrakatta Plate race was run in 1900, in which contestant Willie took first place. This race is a set weights racing event, offering weight conditions of fillies carrying 54 kilograms and colts and geldings carrying 56 kilograms.

Perth Autumn Racing Carnival Main Event

The Karrakatta Plate is held annually, forming an integral part of the Perth Autumn Racing Carnival, which is the area’s most prominent annual horse racing event that attracts spectators and bettors from all corners of the globe. Race horses who participate in this race are generally belonging to the 2-year-old category, although a few eastern raiders have been sent across in the past. On horse betting, the race offers $500,000 in prize money to the 1st place winner.

Karrakatta Plate in Perth Racing Season

The Karrakatta Plate is considered to be the Perth Racing season calendar’s premier two-year-old category horse race. At the start of its inception and for many consecutive years, this race took place in December, but it now takes place in March and is featured as a part of the Perth Racing Autumn Carnival, which also includes renowned events such as the Melvista Stakes, Matchmaker Classic and Western Australian Oaks races. The Western Australian Oaks race in particular is held on the same day as the Karrakatta Plate. In addition to the race itself, spectators can also take part in a number of featured family activities at the venue, and even participate in the Myer Fashions on the Field competition.

Sires Produce Stakes Race

Race horses that excel in the Ascot Racecourse Karrakatta Plate may be given the chance to compete in the upcoming Group 3 race, the Sires Produce Stakes, which is also held at the Ascot track during the following month. The Sires Produce Stakes is a Group-2 thoroughbred set weights race which is run over 1,400 metres.

Recent Karrakatta Plate Winners

The 2015 Karrakatta Plate race at Ascot was won by Lucky Street and Paul Harvey, with Mystic Maid and Patrick Carbery coming in 2nd, and Mitchell Pateman and Showy Chloe claiming 3rd place. Winner Lucky Street’s total race time clocked in at 1:10.68. Strong contenders among current day riders include Patrick Carbery, Jason Whiting, Peter Knuckey and Troy Turner, who each have 2 wins at the Ascot Karrakatta Plate to their names.

Past Winners

Past winners of the Karrakatta Plate at Ascot include Hobart Jones coming in at 1:11.5 in 2014, Ms Funovits coming in at 1:10.8 in 2013 and Luke’s Luck clocking in at 1:11.2 in 2012. There have also been two dead heats in the Karrakatta Plate’s history, with race judges unable to separate contenders Blue Moon and Jolly Beggar in 1908, and Honneur and His Double in 1922.